Director’s Notes Nov. 22, 2019

Happy Thanksgiving! We have arrived at a well deserved break for everyone. Every year at Thanksgiving I try to stop and reflect on all that I have and all that I am. I think of my year, my family, my friends, my job.  Today, I found myself thinking of how grateful I am to be a part of this wonderful community of teacher, students, and parents that are so hard working and inspiring. Just moments ago I saw a tech student take initiative and lead her class to help clean up the stage area so that her dance peers could prepare for their show. No one asked her to do this. No teacher gave her this instruction. She did it because it needed to be done and because she cared about tech, about the task, and for her fellow NESA students. And this is only one example of what I see here every day. I could speak forever of tales of people going above and beyond to ensure excellence and opportunity for each other here at NESA, but I won’t. How lucky I am to be able to witness and aid in the continued success of such a wonderful school. If you are reading this I am thankful for you. You and I are a part of this place together.

Celebration for Instrumental Music

This week NESA participated in the Region Band competition. We want to extend a hearty congratulations to their teacher Mr. Martinez and the students who placed, in addition to the students who placed at Region Orchestra earlier this month!  Way to go IM!

Ella Flister – Symphony Orchestra, 2nd Violin, Region Orchestra

Ben Welchman – District Band: Trumpet

Sam Schlesinger – District Band: Horn

Sara Dulaney- Symphony Orchestra, Honorable mention, Viola

 

Steppin’ Into the Holidays

When you return from break it will be time to get into the holiday spirit with Steppin’ Into the Holidays!

Steppin’ Into the Holidays runs Friday, Dec. 6 at 7:30, Saturday Dec. 7 at 2:30 and 7:30 and Sunday Dec. 8 at 2:30. Tickets are available at https://nesa.booktix.com/

Usher for Steppin’

Need an usher credit? Here is the sign up genius to usher for Steppin’ https://www.signupgenius.com/go/20F0A48A9A62BA5FF2-steppin

 

From NESA pARTners

NESA Parents-

Be on the lookout for an email from your students director, parent rep or post on your individual Major FB pages. Each major is contributing and putting together a themed basket for our pARTners silent auction which will be held Sunday, December 8th during the matinee showing of Steppin’ Into the Holidays. This is our biggest fundraiser of the year!

In addition we are also accepting additional items that anyone would like to contribute. Lessons, tickets for sporting or music events, or any type of gift certificates for beauty, food, or family fun.

Or do you know a business that would like to contribute? Let us know!

All monies raised goes back to your child’s classroom, scholarships, end of year banquet, and master classes.

Sincerely,

Your NESA pARTners Fundraising Committee #nesa #bettertogether #RootEdnesa #weRpartners

 

Other upcoming dates:

Creative Writing Gathering of Poets and Writers- Dec. 10th , 7pm in the LEE Blackbox

Outsiders Film Festival- Dec 13th, 7pm in the theater

Exams start Dec. 17th.

 

 

I will leave this Director’s Notes with a quote from Maya Angelou: “Be present in all things and thankful for all things.”

Have a wonderful break.

Sarah Pagona, Director of the North East School of the Arts

Leave a Reply